Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Premiering Talent And Sportsmanship

The 4th MCKK Premier 7s 2014 Rugby Tournament will be held from February 28 to March 2 at the MCKK Grounds in Kuala Kangsar, Perak.

The tournament is an Under-17 Age Group Invitational International tournament where 24 school teams will compete for the honour of winning the coveted NJ Ryan Trophy.

The number of international teams invited have increased from three teams in previous tournament to six teams. This year, teams from New Zealand and South Africa, two Test playing rugby nation, will feature for the first time together with debutant Singapore. Thailand, Hong Kong and Brunei will also return this year.

The level of competition is expected to be of a higher standard with six international teams challenging the best 18 Malaysian schools in the Cup, Plate, Bowl and Shield competitions of Malaysia’s premier rugby 7s tournament for schools.

Amongst the Malaysian schools which have confirmed their participation are two-time champions, Sekolah Sukan Tunku Mahkota Ismail of Johor which will need to be at their best to be able to dethrone defending champions, MCKK.

Strong challenges are also expected from local powerhouses such as Kelantan’s SMK Sultan Yahya Petra 1, Perak’s Sekolah Tuanku Abdul Rahman of Perak and Klang Valley’s Sekolah Menengah Sains Selangor, Sekolah Sultan Alam Shah and Sekolah Menengah Sains Hulu Selangor.

The tournament is jointly organised by the MCKK and the Malay College Old Boys Association (MCOBA) with the support of Ministry of Education, Ministry of Youth and Sports and Ministry of Tourism.

For more info please visit MCKK Premier 7s official website at

No comments:

Post a Comment